Hooked!

Things I am hooked on at the moment.  Cats, grits with lots of butter and salt, Japanese tv from NHK.org, songs from the 1930’s, the Military Channel, the Science Channel, TCM, jumping to conclusions, and having time to read, read and read some more. Oh, I am also hooked on drawing and writing always.

Things I am not hooked on.  This presidential race.  I am already sick of the race to the presidency and November 4, 2012 is 9 1/2 months away.  Telemarketers who want to sell me health insurance, presidents, ecological solutions, and peace of mind all for the price of $9.99 plus shipping no doubt.  I am seriously thinking of dropping my land line phone.  Seriously considering it.  Then I remember last year.

Now last August, we had an earthquake around here in Northern Virginia.  The quake did a whole lot of shaking and one of the things it shook up most were the cell phone towers.  All my friends who had ditched their land lines in favor of cell phones were moaning about not being able to call anyone.  And then there was me — the person who hates change with such a passion I still have the same bank, the same car insurance, the same vets I had back in the 1980s.  This is not to brag.  In fact, being this rigid probably says something about me I don’t want to hear.   SO don’t say it, please.  But it does mean I got to tease my oh-so-advanced buddies who were now without their phones.  Bliss.

I could get hooked on teasing about that.  Really hooked.

 

Leave a Reply

